Country	Legal obligations
Albania	Winter tyres are not compulsory.
Andorra	Winter tyres are not compulsory.
Armenia	Winter tyres are not compulsory, but tyres must be adapted for winter conditions.
Austria	Winter tyres are compulsory. Carrying snow chains in the vehicle is rec-ommended.
Belarus	Winter tyres are compulsory. Snow chains are permitted.
Belgium	Winter tyres are not compulsory. Snow chains are permitted.
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Winter tyres, all-season tyres or snow chains are compulsory. It is com-pulsory to have snow chains and a shovel in the vehicle.
Bulgaria	Winter tyres are recommended. Carrying snow chains in the vehicle is recommended.
Croatia	On slush, snow and ice, at least two winter tyres must be fitted to the driving wheels. It is compulsory to have snow chains and a shovel in the vehicle.
Cyprus	Winter tyres are recommended.
Czech Republic	Winter tyres are compulsory. Snow chains are compulsory where indicated.
Denmark	Winter tyres or all-season tyres are recommended. Snow chains are permitted.
Estonia	Winter tyres are compulsory.
Finland	Winter tyres or all-season tyres are compulsory. Snow chains are permitted.
France	The winter tyre requirement came into effect on 1 November 2021. The prefects of the 48 departments located in mountainous areas (Alpes, Corsica, Central Massif, Jurisian Massif, Pyrénées, Vosgien Massif) are still to establish the list of communes in which vehicle equipment is compulsory, from 1 November to 31 March.
Germany	2010 regulations require all cars and motorcycles to be fitted with winter tyres or all-season tyres on all wheels in winter conditions. Carrying snow chains in the vehicle is recommended.
Greece	Winter tyres are not compulsory, but tyres must be adapted for winter conditions. Snow chains are permitted.
Hungary	Winter tyres are not compulsory, but snow chains must be carried in case conditions deteriorate.
Iceland	Winter tyres or all-season tyres are compulsory.
Italy	Winter tyres are recommended but are only compulsory on certain roads. It is compulsory to have snow chains with you in some areas.
Latvia	Winter tyres are compulsory.
Lithuania	Winter tyres are compulsory.
Luxembourg	Winter tyres are not compulsory, but tyres must be adapted for winter conditions.
Macedonia	Winter tyres are not compulsory. It is compulsory to have snow chains in the vehicle.
Moldova	Winter tyres are compulsory.
Montenegro	Winter tyres are compulsory.
Norway	Winter tyres or snow chains must be used if the road is covered with snow or ice. In other cases, winter tyres are recommended, but not compulsory. It is compulsory to have snow chains in the vehicle.
Poland	Winter tyres are recommended, but not compulsory.
Portugal	Winter tyres are not compulsory, but snow chains are compulsory when indicated by signage.
Romania	Winter tyres are not compulsory, but tyres must be adapted for winter conditions.
Russia	Winter tyres are compulsory and snow chains must be fitted to the vehicle.
Serbia	Winter tyres are compulsory. It is compulsory to have snow chains in the vehicle.
Slovakia	Winter tyres are not compulsory, but tyres bearing the M&S symbol are compulsory when the road is covered in packed snow or ice.
Slovenia	Winter tyres are compulsory. It is compulsory to have snow chains and a shovel in the vehicle.
Spain	The use of winter tyres in Spain is regional. Pay attention to traffic signs indicating that winter tyres or snow chains are compulsory in a given area.
Sweden	Winter tyres are compulsory. Snow chains are recommended.
Switzerland	Winter tyres are not compulsory, unless specifically indicated
Turkey	Winter tyres are not compulsory. It is compulsory to have snow chains on board the vehicle in certain regions.
Ukraine	Winter tyres are not compulsory.
United Kingdom	Winter tyres are not compulsory, but snow chains are permitted.